You are here

PFC Beroe Stara Zagora


         PFC Beroe Stara Zagora

         Founded on 6 May 1916





6 May 1916   - Touristic association “Verea” was founded with a football section

                      in it and lasted a few months

1919              - the association and the football section were re-established and  lasted until 1922

1922               - SC “Verea” (later renamed SC “Rekord”) and SC “Borislav” were founded

14 May 1924   - SC “Rekord” merged with SC “Borislav” under the new name

                        “Beroya”. After one month SC “Rekord” split away and was renamed SC “Svetoslav”

1926               - SC “Beroya” and SC “Pobeda” merged under the name SC “Bulgaria”

1927               - SC “Bulgaria” and SC “Svetoslav” merged under the name SC “Botev”

1928               - the clubs “Botev”, “Uragan” and “Trayana” merged under the name SC “Trayana”

1929               - SC “Borislav” was re-established

1945               - SC “Borislav” changed its name to SC “Septemvri”

1947               - SC “Septemvri” and SC “Anton Yugov” merged under the name SC “Levski”

1948               - SC “Levski” and SC “Lokomotiv” merged under the name FD “Shipka”

1949               - FD “Shipka” was dissolved and a number of DSOs were founded

                        the most important of which DSO “Stroitel”

1951               - DSO “Stroitel” was renamed DSO “Udarnik”

1957               - DSOs “Udarnik”, “SKNA”, “Spartak” and “Dinamo” merged under

                        the name FD “Botev”

1959               - FD “Botev” and FD ”Lokomotiv” merged under the name FD “Beroe”

1998-1999      - in this season FC “Beroe” was relegated to the 4th level of the

                        Bulgarian competition. Meanwhile, there were three more teams

                        with the same name in the different levels.

1999               - the team of “Olimpic” Teteven moved to Stara Zagora and changed its name to

                   “Olimpic-Beroe”, keeping its headquarters in the town of Teteven

2000               - the name of the club changed one more time to PFC “Beroe” following a new legal registration